During casual conversation I will talk about all the repairs that I have done to this little car and people sometimes come to the odd conclusion that I need a new car. This off-the-cuff thinking is understood in our throw-away society but when you don’t have the resources to just go out and buy even a used car, it comes across a bit more naive then it is intended.

The way I see it is that if you are taking the car back in to the shop for the same repair over and over again, then that is enough evidence to consider getting rid of it for another vehicle. My other car almost gets into that category with issues with the wheel bearings as they wear out faster than any other part I have had replaced. I say “almost” because although it is the car that I have had the worst problems with, it has also been the handiest vehicle when I needed it. Lately it has been doing good and despite being half the age of the Sentra, it books for half the Sentra’s value as well so its not even worth trying to get another one for it.

Granted I have put in a lot of work on the car but that is only because it just hasn’t been done over the years it has existed. I know it has had regular maintenance but not to the extent that I have gone into it and the things that I have replaced are those elements that just wear out from normal use or from making a few bad decisions. (I shorted out my ECU once while trying to get codes from it.)

Right now the car is at the mechanic (SSC) once again to adjust what I consider to be the final major repairs to the vehicle along with some minor maintenance. After this it is going to be purely cosmetic enhancements and regular maintenance from now on.

  • The other day I got the new carburetor in the mail and so that will be replaced.
  • Installing a new Ground Strap that connects the front of the engine to the frame.
  • Replacing the old brake fluid
  • Replacing the front brake pads and rear brake shoes
  • Replacing the rear brake cylinders and brake hardware
  • Replacing the right rear brake dust shield
  • Replacing both front brake dust shields
  • Replacing the front rotors and rear drums
  • Replacing the front and rear wheel bearings
  • Replacing at least one front axle and seals

Yep, that should do it. In essence I will be making car payments for awhile to get all of that work paid off but it will totally be worth it and it will be like having a new car.